Home > Comics Timeline

Comics Timeline

Comics historians divide the history of American comic books into ages. These eras include the Golden Age (1938-1950), the Silver Age (1956-1970), the Bronze Age (1970-1985), and the Modern Age (1985-Present).

This timeline presents milestones, trends, and pivotal events that defined the comics medium during each of these eras.  

The Golden Age (1938-1950)


The Silver Age (1956-1970)


The Bronze Age (1970-1985)

The Modern Age (1985-Present)